No need for libdwarf, only the header file matters
authorTudor Bosman <tudor@rockset.io>
Tue, 25 Oct 2016 03:04:41 +0000 (20:04 -0700)
committerFacebook Github Bot <facebook-github-bot-bot@fb.com>
Tue, 25 Oct 2016 03:08:56 +0000 (20:08 -0700)
Summary:
folly/experimental/symbolizer doesn't actually link with libdwarf, it only requires dwarf.h.
Closes https://github.com/facebook/folly/pull/501

Differential Revision: D4068438

Pulled By: djwatson

fbshipit-source-id: 6339eabf8fceac300caafb478c003833768125fd

README.md
folly/configure.ac

index 451ad71..fcc3f9f 100644 (file)
--- a/README.md
+++ b/README.md
@@ -109,7 +109,7 @@ sudo apt-get install \
     libssl-dev
 ```
 
-If advanced debugging functionality for tests are required
+If advanced debugging functionality is required
 
 ```
 sudo apt-get install \
index d4acc99..ba3efd7 100644 (file)
@@ -568,12 +568,11 @@ AC_ARG_ENABLE([follytestmain],
 
 use_follytestmain=yes
 # libdwarf used to install in /usr/include, now installs in /usr/include/libdwarf.
-AC_SEARCH_LIBS([dwarf_init], [dwarf])
 AC_CHECK_HEADERS([libdwarf/dwarf.h dwarf.h], [break])
 # Check whether we have both the library and the header
 have_libdwarf=no
-AS_IF([test "x${ac_cv_search_dwarf_init}" != xno && test "x${ac_cv_header_libdwarf_dwarf_h}" = xyes], [have_libdwarf=yes])
-AS_IF([test "x${ac_cv_search_dwarf_init}" != xno && test "x${ac_cv_header_dwarf_h}" = xyes], [have_libdwarf=yes])
+AS_IF([test "x${ac_cv_header_libdwarf_dwarf_h}" = xyes], [have_libdwarf=yes])
+AS_IF([test "x${ac_cv_header_dwarf_h}" = xyes], [have_libdwarf=yes])
 if test "x${follytestmain}" = "xyes"; then
    AS_IF([test "x${have_libdwarf}" = xno], [AC_MSG_ERROR([Please install libdwarf development library and headers])])
    AC_CHECK_HEADERS([elf.h],, AC_MSG_ERROR([Please install libelf development package]))